Why I took a Facebook Hiatus

Been on a two-week Facebook hiatus and I have to say it’s a total breather. facebook on mac

A lot of people were asking why (especially my husband), well, because Facebook has been a drag and an inconvenience. It has been causing some problems in my life and I decided to have a break from the habit of using facebook everyday.

Most people want to do it but can’t. What I did was I deleted my Facebook App on my phone. Plus I stayed away from using my own account on PC.

I have a lot of realizations during this hiatus and it has been a long-awaited breather and an eye-opener for me. Here are some of it:

1. Facebook has become an unknown habit.
Some people don’t realize that Facebook has become one of their unavoidable habit. Its like one of the chores you have to do every day. You don’t realize at that moment you wake up and even before you brush your teeth that you look for your phone and open facebook. It’s like your personal newspaper. But seriously, who opens up a newspaper right after you wake up?!. People should greet whoever they’re sleeping with “good morning” first, or brush their teeth, Pray to God, fix their bed, drink their coffee or have breakfast first before going to facebook. Right? I don’t want to sound like a grandma (although I think I am. Sorry) but people have become so attached to their Facebook that its the first thing they do in the morning.
I think the best way to avoid this is to turn off your phone and/or put it away from you before you sleep. And speaking of that…

2. Sleeping with Facebook.
I remember that one time, it was bed-time for me and I was really sleepy but I was still skimming through my facebook newsfeed when I suddenly fell asleep and dropped the phone on my face!!! I know that happens to a lot of people too.
Because of my break, I started questioning the point of losing hours of sleep just to look at what’s happening around the world thru Facebook. I mean, is it really worth it? As for me, being a work-at-home mom and still breastfeeding, its totally not! I NEED(as in badly NEED) that 8 hours of sleep!!! I’d be lucky if I have 4 or 6 hours straight, but that rarely happens since I work at night and my son still breastfeeds when he sleeps. So yeah, that 8 hours of uninterrupted, peaceful sleep is on top of my dreamlist.

3. Facebook is full of fake people.
I guess this is not news. I know a lot of you have enemies on facebook. Enemies are given and some are even blocked on facebook but what ticks me is the fake friends. Its when a “friend” secretly “unlikes” your photo or status. Let me explain this further. Its that moment you see a friends picture or status and you roll your eyes thinking “ugh, not that selfie again” or “damn, he’s boasting about his new stuff again” or “ugh. not another photo of her baby!!!”. I think you know what I mean. Facebook may not have an “Unlike” button but our minds certainly do. It’s called ENVY. When you are not happy with what’s happening in the life of your (so-called) friend, then its time to look at the envy-mirror. We have to face the fact that everyone experience their own ups and downs so where else to share it but on facebook where everyone will see it.  Which brings me to point number…

4. It’s my wall and I can post what I want to. (bet you sung that in Lesley Gore’s “it’s my party and I’ll cry if I want to” tune eh?)
To each his own, right? So why can’t we apply that to Facebook? Each person can post WHATEVER they want in their own newsfeed. It shouldn’t bother us that someone post a selfie everyday, or someone post what they’re eating at the moment or when someone post a video of their child talking, etc. You get the idea right? Why should it bother us when someone post something on their wall? Yeah we see it in our newsfeed, but isn’t that the purpose of it? to see what’s happening to everyone? if its a bother to see an update about that person, then why did you add or accepted him/her as a friend on facebook in the first place?

5. You have a life outside Facebook.
Like I said, this break had been my wake up call, to what? To life. During my break, I was able to pursue my dream to become an ARC reader, was able to spend more time with my husband and son, was able to interact more with people and was able to take care of myself. Oh, and I was able to blog again. I realized that facebook really takes a lot of your time, no, let me rephrase that…Facebook waste a lot of your time. It’s like Facebook is your Hiatus to Life.

So why am I going back to facebook? Because, why not? Its not like I’m going to deactivate because of the reasons above and a lot more. I just have to not let it become my habit again.

I still have a lot of realizations but I guess that’s for another blog. With all that said, I don’t hate facebook and I don’t suggest deactivating but I strongly recommend having a break from it every once in a while. Its a total refresher and it feels good.

Oh, and one last note: Never let facebook ruin your REAL relationship with people, whether its your spouse, family or friend. Facebook is just a social media. Its not you or your life.

I hope someone finds this post useful. See you on my next blog post!

Leave a Reply

